top of page

Who We Are

The Oneida Community Mansion House (OCMH) is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization with an educational charter from the New York State Board of Regents. It was designated a National Historic Landmark (NHL) in 1965 as part of the National Survey of Historic Sites and Buildings. This is the highest designation of historical significance that can be awarded by the United States government and is reserved for places that are exceptional because of their ability to illustrate U.S. heritage. Today, there are less than 2,600 NHLs in the United States. The mission of the OCMH is to use our historic site and collection to share the story of the Oneida Community—one of the most radical and successful of the 19th century social experiments—to explore pressing social issues that still confront audiences today.


Jonathan C. Pawlika, Chair
Wilber Allen, Vice-Chair

David S. Hill, Ed.D., Treasurer
James Trevvett, Secretary



Anne Kelley Anderson

Susan Belasco, Ph.D.

Hugh Bradford

Sean Hart

Ellen Percy Kraly, Ph.D.

Carolyn Strobel-Larsen

Laura Wayland-Smith Hatch


Christine Hall O'Neil, Executive Director

Thomas Guiler, Director of Museum Affairs
Michael Colmey, Director of Buildings & Grounds

John Raynsford, Director of Finance

​Chelsea Scheuerman, Director of Guest Services

bottom of page